The most widely accepted definition of a vegetarian by fellow vegetarians is a person who eats no meat, fish, or poultry. Primarily a vegetarian consistently avoids all flesh foods as well as byproducts of meat, fish, and poultry. However, vegetarian diets vary in the extent to which they exclude animal products.
There are four types of vegetarians, Semi-vegetarians, Lacto-Ovo vegetarians, Lacto-vegetarians, and Vegans. The difference between them are as follows:
- Semi-vegetarians are those who are cutting back on his or her intake of meat. A pollo vegetarian avoids red meat and fish but eats chicken, and a pesco pollo vegetarian avoids red meat but eats chicken and fish.
- Lacto-Ovo vegetarians diet excludes meat, fish, and poultry but includes dairy products and eggs. They eat such foods as cheese, ice cream, yogurt, milk, and eggs as well as foods that include these ingredients.
- Lacto vegetarians diet excludes meat, fish, and poultry, as well as eggs and any foods containing eggs, however, they eat dairy products such as milk, yogurt, and cheese.
- Vegans avoid eating or using all animal products, including meat, fish, poultry, eggs, dairy products, any foods containing by-products of these ingredients, including the use of wool, silk, leather, and any nonfood items made with animal byproducts. Some vegans even avoid money.
What type of vegetarian are you? Today is day 5 of my journey of becoming a vegetarian, and according to this list I am a pollo vegetarian, however, I do not eat chicken, but I do eat seafood and plenty of vegetables and salads. Because becoming a vegetarian is very new for me, I thought it would be nice to include in the Workout
Wednesday category, recipes for vegetarians and for those who just want to eat healthier. I hope you enjoy the new additions and now I’m off to search for the recipes, Lois.